GILMER INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

COUNTY OF UPSHUR

The Board of Trustees of Gilmer Independent School District met in regular session on Monday, October 16, 2017, at 6:00 PM at the Gilmer ISD Administration Building, 500 S. Trinity, Gilmer, Texas.

Board members present:

Members absent:

Gloria King

Lula Johnson

Todd Tefteller

Clayton Tefteller

Kenny Southwell

Diedra Camp

Mark Skinner, presiding

Also present were Rick Albritton, Judy Moore, administrators and interested citizens

CALL TO ORDER: Mr. Skinner at 6:00 PM

INVOCATION: Mr. Southwell

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Mr. Skinner

<u>PUBLIC COMMENTS/AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION</u>: Mr. Lewis Bishop, re: recommendation of gun safety classes for students.

<u>GILMER "PRIDE" AWARDS</u>: A Pride Award was presented to McKenzie Castro for receiving the Hispanic Merit Scholarship Award.

SUPERINTENDENT REPORTS

- A. Presentation Instructional coaches
- B. Revenue sources

CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS:

- A. Minutes of the September 18, 2017, September 25, 2017, October 2, 2017 and October 9, 2017 meetings of the Board
- B. Financial and tax collection reports
- C. Budget amendments
- D. Student transfers for school year 2017-2018
- E. Approve additional T-Tess appraisers for 2017-2018
- F. District Wellness Plan
- G. Exposure Control Plan for 2017-2018
- H. GISD SHAC (Student Health Advisory Council) Staff Recommendations for 2017-2018
- I. Resolution for Upshur County 4:H Organization to be sanctioned for extracurricular status

Motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Mrs. Johnson to approve consent agenda items "A-I", in their entirety. Motion carried with 6 ayes and no noes. (Info on file)

REGULAR AGENDA ITEMS:

NOMINATE CANDIDATE(S) FOR UPSHUR COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT BOARD OF

<u>**DIRECTORS**</u>: Motion was made by Mrs. Johnson and seconded by Mr. Clayton Tefteller to nominate by resolution—Mr. Brandon Dodd and Mr. Richard Stolle as candidates for the Upshur County Appraisal District Board of Directors. (On file) Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes.

CONSIDER FUEL PROPOSALS FOR 2017-2018: Motion was me by Ms. Camp and seconded by Mrs. King that the Board approve Jackson Oil as the fuel vendor for the 2017-2018 school year. Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes. (Info on file)

LEVEL III EMPLOYEE GRIEVANCE HEARING: Closed session only

CONSIDER BIDS FOR LAND: Closed session only

STAFFING REQUIREMENTS FOR 2017-2018

EXECUTIVE SESSION (CLOSED): The Board of Trustees entered Executive Session (Closed) according to TEC 551.074 (Personnel Matters) on Monday, October 16, 2017, at 6:30 p.m. Executive Session (Closed) ended at 8:10 p.m., October 16, 2017, for consideration of the following: (The grievance hearing was held during this time)

- A. Level III Employee Grievance Hearing
- B. Consider personnel matters (appointments, leaves, reassignments, resignations, retirements, termination of probationary contracts, contract extensions)
- C. Land consideration

EXECUTIVE SESSION (CLOSED): The Board of Trustees entered Executive Session (Closed) according to TEC 551.074 (Personnel Matters) on Monday, October 16, 2017, at 8:10 p.m. Executive Session (Closed) ended at 9:05 p.m., October 16, 2017, for consideration of the following: (The land consideration was held during this time)

- D. Level III Employee Grievance Hearing
- E. Consider personnel matters (appointments, leaves, reassignments, resignations, retirements, termination of probationary contracts, contract extensions)
- F. Land consideration

ACTION FOLLOWING CLOSED SESSION:

Motion was made by Ms. Camp and seconded by Mrs. Johnson to make a counter offer for \$300,000 of which \$50,000 would be used to start a Splash Pad fund and then ask the Yamboree Assoc. to donate to pledge another \$50,000 for the Splash Pad. Mr. Todd Tefteller made the motion and Mrs. Johnson seconded it to amend the motion and change the wording from pledge to pay-- and that Mark Skinner be authorized to negotiate for the Board. Motion passed with 7 ayes and no noes.

ADJOURNMENT: The Board meeting adjourned at 9:09 PM.		
By:	By:	
Mark Skinner, Board President		Gloria King, Secretary